Mailing List
Home
Forum Home
Softimage
Carrara
trueSpace
Dir3d-l
Maya - a powerful 3D animation and visual effects software
Macromedia Flash Development
Subjects
Cameras
scaleDown command
black out solved
Aircraft Tutorial
Mathematical XYZ ?
Its done This vs That
Its done first week
recommendations for screen video captures?
3DExplorer "Oddity "
New Director
ProTeam renewals
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Blue peter create a make toy
targeting groups question
XPost: Shockwave 3D game ( sort of )
RES: RES: RES: Fish Modeling
Emitting particles from object intersection
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Texturing
Big Break Contest Videos
New Plugins
Models and Texture on my updated site
Error Installing Patch tS6 6
Plasma?
Looking for Inspiration
Weird EMail Q
It 's done first week ?
Cherry not cranberry
New game
Camera Animation Problem
Particle plugins?
 
Weird EMail Q. -

Weird EMail Q. -

2004-02-10       - By Jack Edwards

 Back
Reply:     1     2     3     4     5     6     7     8     9  

*.scr is the extension that Windows uses for screen saver files. They are
regular *.exe files renamed to *.scr

So clicking on one is just like clicking on an *.exe

If you ever recieve a *.scr, *.exe, *.pif, *.com, or any other kind of
executable file attached to an e-mail, chances are that it's a virus.

__ ____ ____ __
Jack Edwards


-- --Original Message-- --
From: TSML [mailto:truespace@(protected)]On Behalf Of Kris
Sent: Monday, February 09, 2004 1:21 PM
To: truespace@(protected)
Subject: Re: [TSML] Weird EMail Q. -


Thanks Tom, Mat, Richard, and Wakko,

I hadn't thought of *.scr being a Script file.  I never did open the thing
but didn't delete it until reading your msgs (just in case).  I'd suspected
that someone had nosed into my machine.  Thank you for the info!  So I also
did quite a bit of cleanup on the machine and re-set Explorer to Reject All
Cookies (and kill all scripts) - what must have happened is that, after I
restored an old registry, some spyware must have  been reactivated (reg
entry for gator.com for example) and my IE settings had been set to the
defaults - so I also made a new Reg Backup!

Anyway, thanks again :)

- Kris K.

At 05:47 AM 09-02-2004, Thomas Moffat Grimes wrote:
>Hi all,
>
>Just a reminder that viruses these days just about always spam the email
>address they come from. That is, it never is who sent it. They work by
>grabbing email addresses found on the web, or a guessed / made-up address,
>or found in an infected computer's address book, and make it seem like they
>come from that address.
>
>So that everyone is sure, Caligari won't send you any attachments without
>letting you know first! If you get anything that 'appears' to be from a
>Caligari address with an attachment, then don't open it. Of course, our
>emails are found on message boards, on our website, in people's address
>books and all sorts, so it can easily be picked on as a spammed address for
>a virus.
>
>Thanks!
>    Tom
>
>Thomas Moffat Grimes
>Marketing Communications
>Caligari Corporation
>
>mailto:thomas@(protected)
>http://www.caligari.com
>
>
> > [Original Message]
> > From: Kris <pterochromics@(protected)>
> > To: <truespace@(protected)>
> > Date: 2/6/2004 2:11:09 PM
> > Subject: [TSML] Weird EMail Q. -
> >
> > Hi,  I received an email from "truespace@(protected)", the body
> > said: The message cannot be represented in 7-bit ASCII encoding and has
> > been sent as a binary attachment."  THe attachment is named
"message.zip",
> > and the file inside the zip is called "message.scr".
> >
> > I'm not getting any header info showing up.
> > Roman or anyone, is this legitimate?  I seem to remember that *.scr
files
> > can hold viruses, so, I'm wondering whether the message is legit and
safe
> > to opn (but what *is* an SCR file...?), or whether someone is onl;y
> > pretending to be from Caligari.
> >
> > ((I didn't just reply to it because, if it is someone just pretending to
>be
> > Caligari, they'd just fool me again, so I figured I'd ask y'all...))
> >
> > Thanks for your patience and any clues (since I have none =;-o !)
> >
> > - Kris
> >
> >
> >
> > - Kris M. Krieger
> >    http://www.pterochromics.com