Weird EMail Q. - 2004-02-09 - By Kris
Back Thanks Tom, Mat, Richard, and Wakko,
I hadn't thought of *.scr being a Script file. I never did open the thing but didn't delete it until reading your msgs (just in case). I'd suspected that someone had nosed into my machine. Thank you for the info! So I also did quite a bit of cleanup on the machine and re-set Explorer to Reject All Cookies (and kill all scripts) - what must have happened is that, after I restored an old registry, some spyware must have been reactivated (reg entry for gator.com for example) and my IE settings had been set to the defaults - so I also made a new Reg Backup!
Anyway, thanks again :)
- Kris K.
At 05:47 AM 09-02-2004, Thomas Moffat Grimes wrote: >Hi all, > >Just a reminder that viruses these days just about always spam the email >address they come from. That is, it never is who sent it. They work by >grabbing email addresses found on the web, or a guessed / made-up address, >or found in an infected computer's address book, and make it seem like they >come from that address. > >So that everyone is sure, Caligari won't send you any attachments without >letting you know first! If you get anything that 'appears' to be from a >Caligari address with an attachment, then don't open it. Of course, our >emails are found on message boards, on our website, in people's address >books and all sorts, so it can easily be picked on as a spammed address for >a virus. > >Thanks! > Tom > >Thomas Moffat Grimes >Marketing Communications >Caligari Corporation > >mailto:thomas@(protected) >http://www.caligari.com > > > > [Original Message] > > From: Kris <pterochromics@(protected)> > > To: <truespace@(protected)> > > Date: 2/6/2004 2:11:09 PM > > Subject: [TSML] Weird EMail Q. - > > > > Hi, I received an email from "truespace@(protected)", the body > > said: The message cannot be represented in 7-bit ASCII encoding and has > > been sent as a binary attachment." THe attachment is named "message.zip", > > and the file inside the zip is called "message.scr". > > > > I'm not getting any header info showing up. > > Roman or anyone, is this legitimate? I seem to remember that *.scr files > > can hold viruses, so, I'm wondering whether the message is legit and safe > > to opn (but what *is* an SCR file...?), or whether someone is onl;y > > pretending to be from Caligari. > > > > ((I didn't just reply to it because, if it is someone just pretending to >be > > Caligari, they'd just fool me again, so I figured I'd ask y'all...)) > > > > Thanks for your patience and any clues (since I have none =;-o !) > > > > - Kris > > > > > > > > - Kris M. Krieger > > http://www.pterochromics.com
|
|