Mailing List
Home
Forum Home
Softimage
Carrara
trueSpace
Dir3d-l
Maya - a powerful 3D animation and visual effects software
Macromedia Flash Development
Subjects
Cameras
scaleDown command
black out solved
Aircraft Tutorial
Mathematical XYZ ?
Its done This vs That
Its done first week
recommendations for screen video captures?
3DExplorer "Oddity "
New Director
ProTeam renewals
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Blue peter create a make toy
targeting groups question
XPost: Shockwave 3D game ( sort of )
RES: RES: RES: Fish Modeling
Emitting particles from object intersection
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Texturing
Big Break Contest Videos
New Plugins
Models and Texture on my updated site
Error Installing Patch tS6 6
Plasma?
Looking for Inspiration
Weird EMail Q
It 's done first week ?
Cherry not cranberry
New game
Camera Animation Problem
Particle plugins?
 
Weird EMail Q. -

Weird EMail Q. -

2004-02-09       - By Thomas Moffat Grimes

 Back
Reply:     1     2     3     4     5     6     7     8     9  

Hi all,

Just a reminder that viruses these days just about always spam the email
address they come from. That is, it never is who sent it. They work by
grabbing email addresses found on the web, or a guessed / made-up address,
or found in an infected computer's address book, and make it seem like they
come from that address.

So that everyone is sure, Caligari won't send you any attachments without
letting you know first! If you get anything that 'appears' to be from a
Caligari address with an attachment, then don't open it. Of course, our
emails are found on message boards, on our website, in people's address
books and all sorts, so it can easily be picked on as a spammed address for
a virus.

Thanks!
  Tom

Thomas Moffat Grimes
Marketing Communications
Caligari Corporation

mailto:thomas@(protected)
http://www.caligari.com


> [Original Message]
> From: Kris <pterochromics@(protected)>
> To: <truespace@(protected)>
> Date: 2/6/2004 2:11:09 PM
> Subject: [TSML] Weird EMail Q. -
>
> Hi,  I received an email from "truespace@(protected)", the body
> said: The message cannot be represented in 7-bit ASCII encoding and has
> been sent as a binary attachment."  THe attachment is named "message.zip",
> and the file inside the zip is called "message.scr".
>
> I'm not getting any header info showing up.
> Roman or anyone, is this legitimate?  I seem to remember that *.scr files
> can hold viruses, so, I'm wondering whether the message is legit and safe
> to opn (but what *is* an SCR file...?), or whether someone is onl;y
> pretending to be from Caligari.
>
> ((I didn't just reply to it because, if it is someone just pretending to
be
> Caligari, they'd just fool me again, so I figured I'd ask y'all...))
>
> Thanks for your patience and any clues (since I have none =;-o !)
>
> - Kris
>
>
>
> - Kris M. Krieger
>    http://www.pterochromics.com