Mailing List
Home
Forum Home
Softimage
Carrara
trueSpace
Dir3d-l
Maya - a powerful 3D animation and visual effects software
Macromedia Flash Development
Subjects
Cameras
scaleDown command
black out solved
Aircraft Tutorial
Mathematical XYZ ?
Its done This vs That
Its done first week
recommendations for screen video captures?
3DExplorer "Oddity "
New Director
ProTeam renewals
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Blue peter create a make toy
targeting groups question
XPost: Shockwave 3D game ( sort of )
RES: RES: RES: Fish Modeling
Emitting particles from object intersection
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Texturing
Big Break Contest Videos
New Plugins
Models and Texture on my updated site
Error Installing Patch tS6 6
Plasma?
Looking for Inspiration
Weird EMail Q
It 's done first week ?
Cherry not cranberry
New game
Camera Animation Problem
Particle plugins?
 
Weird EMail Q. -

Weird EMail Q. -

2004-02-06       - By Richard Kurbis

 Back
Reply:     1     2     3     4     5     6     7     8     9  

I got the same thing!
Deleted it.
Never open up attachments.

Note:
Yahoo mail groups now have a new feature that places attachments on their
emails, this MAKE people on the ML's have to open an attachment in order to
read the message.
This is very bad as its definitly setting up to become the heaviest virus
ridden community on the internet.
Those ML's using this feature (at least the couple out of many I'm a part
of) have promptly turned this feature off Realizing the risk of making
people open attachments in order to read their messages.





> > Hi,  I received an email from "truespace@(protected)", the body
> > said: The message cannot be represented in 7-bit ASCII encoding and has
> > been sent as a binary attachment."  THe attachment is named
"message.zip",
> > and the file inside the zip is called "message.scr".
> >
> > I'm not getting any header info showing up.
> > Roman or anyone, is this legitimate?  I seem to remember that *.scr
files
> > can hold viruses, so, I'm wondering whether the message is legit and
safe
> > to opn (but what *is* an SCR file...?), or whether someone is onl;y
> > pretending to be from Caligari.
> >
> > ((I didn't just reply to it because, if it is someone just pretending to
> be
> > Caligari, they'd just fool me again, so I figured I'd ask y'all...))
> >
> > Thanks for your patience and any clues (since I have none =;-o !)
> [snip]
>
> Don't open it:
>
> http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.mydoom.a@(protected)