Mailing List
Home
Forum Home
Softimage
Carrara
trueSpace
Dir3d-l
Maya - a powerful 3D animation and visual effects software
Macromedia Flash Development
Subjects
Cameras
scaleDown command
black out solved
Aircraft Tutorial
Mathematical XYZ ?
Its done This vs That
Its done first week
recommendations for screen video captures?
3DExplorer "Oddity "
New Director
ProTeam renewals
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Blue peter create a make toy
targeting groups question
XPost: Shockwave 3D game ( sort of )
RES: RES: RES: Fish Modeling
Emitting particles from object intersection
Fuel 's new websites (X post)
Texturing
Big Break Contest Videos
New Plugins
Models and Texture on my updated site
Error Installing Patch tS6 6
Plasma?
Looking for Inspiration
Weird EMail Q
It 's done first week ?
Cherry not cranberry
New game
Camera Animation Problem
Particle plugins?
 
Weird EMail Q. -

Weird EMail Q. -

2004-02-06       - By Matthew

 Back
Reply:     1     2     3     4     5     6     7     8     9  

Hi Kris,
 The email is almost definately not from Caligari.  For a couple of
reasons:

1)  Caligari doesn't send emails out from truespace@(protected)
2)  Caligari doesn't send attachments in their emails to customers unless
they specifically said they would do so before.
3)  There is no point for Caligari to send you a unidentified .scr file
(.scr files are windows screensavers, which just happens to be a favored way
for virus writers to spread their viruses).
4)  There's been a increase in the number of these viruses spreading
recently, keep your virus scanner updated :)

-mattam
"tsrumors.. like the ocean breeze"

-- -- Original Message -- --
From: "Kris" <pterochromics@(protected)>
To: <truespace@(protected)>
Sent: Friday, February 06, 2004 5:02 PM
Subject: [TSML] Weird EMail Q. -


> Hi,  I received an email from "truespace@(protected)", the body
> said: The message cannot be represented in 7-bit ASCII encoding and has
> been sent as a binary attachment."  THe attachment is named "message.zip",
> and the file inside the zip is called "message.scr".
>
> I'm not getting any header info showing up.
> Roman or anyone, is this legitimate?  I seem to remember that *.scr files
> can hold viruses, so, I'm wondering whether the message is legit and safe
> to opn (but what *is* an SCR file...?), or whether someone is onl;y
> pretending to be from Caligari.
>
> ((I didn't just reply to it because, if it is someone just pretending to
be
> Caligari, they'd just fool me again, so I figured I'd ask y'all...))
>
> Thanks for your patience and any clues (since I have none =;-o !)
>
> - Kris
>
>
>
> - Kris M. Krieger
>    http://www.pterochromics.com